Liebster Award – Bloggers Supporting Bloggers

What a surprise to have WordPress notify me that someone had commented on a recent blog post with the following message: “Hi there! I really enjoy your blog. I wanted to let you know that I nominated you for the Liebster Blog Award. You can read all about it on my website:”

When I Googled ‘Liebster Blog Award,’ there were many, many referrals to recent posts citing blogs where others had received a similar message from a blog reader. It appears to be an award given by fellow bloggers to recognize blogs that they like and follow. I am honored that Pat thought of me.

I have been following Pat Bean since 2004 when she was still a reporter for the Ogden Standard-Examiner who also wrote a weekly column about birds. I met her when I was visiting Ogden and joined the Wasatch Audubon group as they took a census of bluebird boxes. When I returned home, I began to read her column, “Winging It,” every week online. As an aspiring writer who loved to chronicle my birding adventures, her column provided me with hope that others might be interested in reading about my experiences.

She retired and her columns stopped.

I started writing the equivalent of blog posts, which I sent out to friends each week by e-mail. After I retired, I took a class in blogging and converted my weekly e-mail stories into Judy’s Jottings, which Pat discovered and started following. A short time later, I set up a separate blog, devoted just to birding – It’s a Bird Thing. I don’t post much in Judy’s Jottings these days, since I have been consumed the last two years with writing – and now marketing – the book I co-authored, Birding Hot Spots of Central New Mexico.

Since Pat posts her blog posts on Facebook, I have been reading them regularly – and have been impressed with her commitment to write a post every day. However, I have to admit that in the bustle of other writing, I have not been following other blogs as much lately.

My obligation, upon being nominated, is to acknowledge the person who nominated me and then to nominate five of my favorite bloggers. I read several ‘professional’ blogs, e.g. Cornell University’s Round Robin, the American Birding Association’s, Peeps. However, my sense of the intent of the Liebster Award is to recognize individual bloggers.

So, here is my list:

1) Even though I acknowledged Pat, her blog posts have to be my #1 favorite. The quotes she uses as a preamble to her posts always reach out and grab me – and I love her photography. Pat Bean’s Blog.

2) I enjoy reading Rosyfinch Ramblings, written by Ken Schneider. Although he maintains homes in south Florida and Illinois, he continues his love of the Sandia Mountains and the Rosy-Finch project on his blog.

3) Another one of my loves is photography. I enjoy following the photographic art of Lisa Tannenbaum on NewMexicoPhotoJournal. She taught several classes I have taken at UNM Continuing Education.

4) My fourth pick would go to Natural Moments, Joe Schelling’s blog where he posts his exquisite photographs of birds and butterflies.

5) My fifth is going to a beginning blogger – Historymama. Carole has a keen sense of observing and commenting on human nature with dry wit. This is hoping that the nomination will encourage her to persist.

The Rules are:
1. Show your thanks to the blogger who gave you the award by linking back to them.
2. Reveal your top 5 picks for the award and let them know by leaving a comment on their blog.
3. Post the award on your blog.
4. Bask in the love from the most supportive people on the blogosphere – other bloggers.
5. And, best of all – have fun and spread the karma.

2 Responses to “Liebster Award – Bloggers Supporting Bloggers”


  1. 1 Writing Jobs November 24, 2011 at 7:15 am

    Great post thanks. I really enjoyed it very much. You have a great blog here. Thanks again for sharing.

    Love writing? We would love for you to join us!

    - Writers Wanted -


  1. 1 Sure Signs of Spring « Natural Moments Trackback on April 12, 2012 at 1:27 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

